Cutter’s Mill Sold to Concord Pet Foods

4 Comments

I loved Cutter’s Mill.

I say “loved” because Cutter’s Mill has been sold to Concord.

The odd thing is, I didn’t know this until about a week ago when I popped in and the store was re-arranged (so frustrating. Seriously. Wegman’s seems to have a really hard time keeping things in the same spot and I find this so annoying). There seemed to be this odd vibe (seriously, not making that up!) and I realized I hadn’t seen any “coupons” in my email for quite some time. Also, the area usually filled with inexpensive chews was empty. The empty bins did have price tags, however, and they were far more expensive.

When I went to checkout, I wasn’t asked if I had a Cutter’s Mill card. I mentioned that I hadn’t been receiving coupons and that’s when I was informed Cutter’s Mill had been sold to a company called “Concord.”

I was kinda devastated.  

The coupons have disappeared with promises that “our prices will be lower.”

I haven’t seen the lower prices yet, though the Chalfont employees tell me it’s because their computers are the last to be “upgraded” and we will ‘soon see lower prices.’

The last time we were there, we weren’t asked to “round up” and donate the extra to the SPCA. I generally HATE being asked for donations (I can’t seem to shop anywhere w/o being asked to round up or donate a dollar to help someone, something… (ever notice that the CEO’s of these non-profits make like, almost half a million dollars?) – HOWEVER- I never ever mind being asked to donate and always round up for the SPCA. What can I say – I love animals – generally, they have no ulterior motives. They want to be fed and loved – I’m down with that!

I’ve noticed my favorite employees have been MIA but don’t know if it’s just bad timing (when I shop they are off) or if they’ve been let go or perhaps moved on to different (hopefully better) options.

But, it’s really not even about the prices or the layout. It’s about the general spirit of the store. It doesn’t seem to be as welcoming, as friendly. Cutter’s Mill wasn’t just a store, it was a shopping experience. Concord just feels like a plain ol’ store.

Oh, AND Cutter’s Mill had a fabulous return policy. Now, with Concord, you can only return for a store credit.

I am so bummed. I’m going to give it another month or so, but judging from all the complaints on the facebook page, it seems like Concord says “We want to listen to customers and keep all the things they loved about Cutter’s Mill” but what they say and what they do don’t jive.

A very sad goodbye and thank you to Cutter’s Mill. You are missed.

 

This is video from a few years ago at Cutter’s Mill when we surprised Katie with a new puppy. We had dropped off the puppy and Rich had made a tag that read “this dog belongs to Katie.” When we dropped in to go shopping, we were admiring the cute puppy and Rich asked Katie to hold him. Then Katie read the puppy’s tag. She later said she couldn’t believe this adorable puppy was actually part of our family (however, she quickly changed his name from Bob to Jack!). 

 
4 thoughts on “Cutter’s Mill Sold to Concord Pet Foods

  1. Hi Laura,
    I was startled to find this out yesterday when I went in there to refill on certain treats of rmy dog. I had not been in there for a little over 2 months now. (I tend to stock up on things and limit my shopping trips). I was startled by the whole experience. Some weird vibe was going on in the Cherry Hill store. I found what I needed, and no, the prices are exactly the same. It wasn’t until the register and my saying I did not have my card with me that I heard the news. Then the teenager behind the counter does the “rounding off for the SPCA” spiel and that really turned me off. I give a lot of money to various animal causes and don’t appreciate this “guilt you into giving more”. At least at Petsmart, the card reader asks if you want to include a dollar, not the counter person. I have never trusted that this money is actually making it to the animals anyway.

    I used to use Concord when I lived in DE from 2001 to 2004. I appreciated them over Petsmart back then, but they are pretty run of the mill. The attitude I encountered yesterday was run of the mill as well. I think my biggest takeaway from yesterday was, I’m tired of buying into the spirit of something only to have it bought up inevitably and the passion gone.

    I’ll give Concord a “wait and see” if they really uphold the tradition of Cutter’s Mill or just turn it into a cookie cutter Concord yawn store. In researching what happened and when, I see they intend to rebrand all of the stores with the Concord name.

  2. Hi Laura, John, Katie, and Jack,

    I just wanted to drop you a quick note since I didn’t really get the opportunity to say good-bye when I decided to leave Cutter’s in August. It was time to move on and I’m much happier at my new job (same industry, different chain, better position).

    I miss you guys and all the wonderful customers that made my 4+ years at Cutter’s so dang enjoyable. Being a part of Katie & Jack’s special day was such blast, something I’ll remember forever.

    Watching the decline of the store has been heart-breaking. I really hoped that when I left, they would be able to continue on with the same level of service that my team and I had worked so hard to create – you said it best, it wasn’t “just a store, it was a shopping experience”. That was our goal every day and now is something I try to impart to all the Store Managers I work with at my new company.

    Maybe someday, we’ll meet again, in the meantime, I’ll continue to enjoy your posts – even the ones that involve you singing!!

    Miss you guys,
    Rich

    • Rich!
      We have been wondering about you so much. So glad you found this – thank you for all your time at Cutter’s Mill – we miss you! Best of luck in your new venture! I’m sure if you bring your same spirit and caring your customers will feel as lucky as we did. Thank you for reading. I can not be held responsible for any hearing loss you may be suffering.
      Much much much luck and happiness!!
      We miss you too!
      Laura

Leave a Reply

